Cambodia to Campground: Big Changes Coming Soon!

Important Internship Announcement!

I sought out this journey to the other side of the world in hopes of an immersive and challenging cross-cultural experience. I had been looking and waiting for this opportunity for God to show me what it looks like to wholly depend on Him, while also desiring a clearer picture of what my future in ministry may hold. During my time in Cambodia, the Lord has certainly challenged me to abide in His love, telling me as He told Martha in John 11: “Did I not tell you that if you believed, you would see the glory of God?”

And I continue to take the lessons Cambodia has taught me and ponder them in my heart. Yet as with many others before me, God continually whispers that this life to the full is more than I could plan for on my own. Esther never knew she would be a queen; Mary never knew she would be mother of a Savior; Joseph never imagined he’d be more than a carpenter; and Martha never thought she’d see men rise from the dead. And if you’d asked me, I never would have guessed that God would invite me to spend the remainder of my summer serving in Cherokee, NC.

He turned my two months in Cambodia to two weeks, but I am confident that with faith I will catch glimpses of His glory. The rest of my internship time will be spent serving on a Native American reservation right by the border between those two states I call home (TN and NC.) I will be assisting in ministry and meeting various campground needs at one of MTW’s most popular sites for short-term teams. I will have the chance to encourage and build relationships with the staff and mission teams, as well as the Cherokee people. I will also be met with a wide variety of ministry opportunities around the reservation, including everything from retirement homes to children’s ministry.

Thank you for your support and prayers as I make this transition. As you pray, please pray for the Cherokee people and those of us who will be serving them this summer. I am so excited to share these experiences with you! I am looking forward to what this new adventure will bring as I surrender my plans.

In the words of Mary in Luke 1, “Behold, I am a servant of the Lord, let it be to me according to your word.”

Leave a comment