Step by Step

“Work, for I am with you, declares the Lord of hosts, according to the covenant I made with you when you came out of Egypt. My Spirit remains in your midst. Fear not.” ~ Haggai 2:4-5

Well my friends, it’s day 6 of my time in Cambodia. I asked the Lord to get me out of my comfort zone, and He sure has provided. Firstly, I wish you all could at some point experience this beautiful country and its merciful people. There is nothing quite like flying over the Mekong River, with surrounding rice fields that create a pattern almost like a hardwood floor. There is nothing quite like fresh papaya newly in season, or the remarkable gecko call sounding you to sleep. The Cambodians are indeed merciful and gracious. They are patient with us as we learn their language, quickly share their fans and umbrellas in the face of extreme heat, and often simply exude kindness.

After a week of orientation, today each of us on the intern team begins our ministry work. There are 5 of us: 2 medical interns that will be traveling, an intern in An’kjeay village, and two of us here in Phnom Penh. Though I am looking forward to beginning ministry, transitioning into a new lifestyle presents challenges, especially seeing as I am set with the task of redefining accessibility everywhere that I go. Here in Cambodia,  accessibility means using my handy-dandy crutches to get around. In the past, I’ve never been a fan of the crutches. I admit I don’t use them as often as I should. I did try to train with them a bit in preparation for this internship by getting a pedometer on my phone and making myself walk a mile when I had the time, but life and finals and papers got in the way. Now that I’m here, I have to be extra intentional about taking care of myself,  even when that means challenging myself physically for the good of these legs that I’ve fought with all my life.

It’s really good for me, but not always easy. Tile floors, inclines, and puddles abound creating one heck of an obstacle course that tests my life motto of “Challenge Accepted!” Earlier this morning, I decided to use my crutches to walk across the street to breakfast, as practice for the greater treks God will give me strength to tackle. The Khmer people that run the guesthouse here are very welcoming and hospitable. And just like every other time I’ve awkwardly shuffled out the door, the guards were ready to carry me anywhere if necessary. Today, motioned with my crutches and told them “No thank you. I am alright.” And one of them using his limited English replied, “Ah. Step by step?” I smiled and said “Yes, step by step!” With that, I kind of realized what this transition thing is all about.

Step by step. Breathe. Fear not. Each step, literally and figuratively, is a victory. And God by his Spirit, takes me step by step. Just keep walking, for I am with you. And as ministry time begins today, I am reminded that the way I will accomplish anything is just that. Step by step.

One thought on “Step by Step

Leave a comment